Q1- A player removes an out of bounds post on his line of play. He realises he has made a mistake and replaces it before playing his next stroke. What is the ruling?
(a) As the post was replaced before the next stroke was played there is no penalty. (b) The player was in breach of Rule 13-2 the moment he removed the post and there was nothing he could do to avoid the penalty of 2 strokes. The replacement of the post before the next stroke was irrelevant. (c) The player restored the post to its original position and therefore gained no advantage with respect to his next stroke. In equity (Rule 1- 4) the penalty of 2 strokes under Rule 13-2 is reduced to a 1 stroke penalty.
Q2 - It is known or virtually certain that a ball that has not been found is lying in casual water. Which statement below is correct?
(a) The player may take relief without penalty and for the purposes of determining the nearest point of relief the ball is deemed to lie at the spot where the ball last crossed the outermost limits of the casual water. (b) As the ball has not been found the player must take the lost ball penalty of stroke and distance. (c) The player may take relief without penalty and the player must estimate the position of the ball. The nearest point of relief is calculated from this spot.
ANSWERS: Q1 = B ( Decision 13-2/25)
Q2 = A (Rule 25-1c)